RV Seat Belt

RV Seat Belt Laws By State (Know When To Buckle Up)

The sofas, bed, kitchen counters and even bunks in an RV all offer a place to sit. However there are safety precautions to be taken while on the road that not everyone is familiar with. RV seat belt laws tend to vary according to which state you’re in.

Just when and where are you supposed to strap in while in the RV?

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration came up with some seat belt laws and guidelines.

They heavily rely on what state you’re in so its better to do some research in advance before taking off in your motor home.

There are two types of laws while you’re on the road, primary enforcement and secondary enforcement.

In the primary, an officer can stop a motorists solely for violating the seat belt law.

While in the secondary enforcement an officer can only stop the vehicle for other reasons before they charge a motorist for violating the seat belt rule.

If you are wondering if you have to wear a seat belt in an RV in your state scroll down below. Every state is different and each state has its own fines associated with not wearing a seat belt as well as the rules of who is required by the states law to wear one.

While some states may only require the people sitting at the front of the RV to put on those seat belts; others require all passengers to be strapped in (regardless of where you’re sitting). Let’s look at some of these laws according to States.

 

RV Seat Belt Laws by State

Alabama (AL)

Alabama is primary enforcement state that requires on the passengers in the front seat to wear a seat belt.

Exemptions include medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery, more than 10 passenger vehicles, RV model year before 1965, vehicles driving in reverse.

$25.00 Fine 

Alaska (AK)

Alaska is a primary enforcement state that requires all passengers in the RV to wear their seat belt at all times while traveling in the RV.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery, school buses, vehicles with no safety belts, emergency vehicles.

$15.00 Fine

Arizona (AZ)

Arizona is a secondary enforcement state and only the people sitting in the front seats as well as all children between the ages of 5-15 in the rear of the vehicle are required to fasten up.

Exemptions are; mail delivery, medical reasons, more than 10 passenger vehicles, model year before 1972.

$10.00 Fine

Arkansas (AK)

In the state of Arkansas only.

Exemption are; medical reason, rural mail delivery, school, church, and public buses, or if your recreational vehicles model year is before 1968.

$25.00 Fine

California (CA)

In California all passengers riding in the RV must utilize a seat belt at all times while traveling. California is also a primary enforcement state so the vehicle is subject to being pulled over if law enforcement see passengers without seat belts.

Typical exemptions apply for medical reasons, newspaper/rural mail delivery, waste/recycling collections, emergency vehicles.

$20.00 Fine

Colorado (CO)

Colorado is a secondary enforcement state that requires all passengers in the RV to wear a seat belt. For passengers under the age of 18 it is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery or pickup services, buses, ambulances, farm tractors, husbandry vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts.

$15.00 Fine

Connecticut (CT)

Connecticut requires children in the rear of the vehicle between the ages of 4 and 16 to wear a seat belt. It also requires passengers in the front of the RV regardless of age to wear a belt at all times and is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery services, vehicles more than 10000 lbs, public vehicles, emergency vehicles.

$37.00 Fine

Delaware (DE)

Delaware mandates that all passengers in the RV wear a seat belt. It is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, mail delivery, tractors, off-road vehicles.

$25.00 Fine

Florida (FL)

While traveling in an RV in the state of Florida all passengers riding in the front of the vehicle must wear a seat belt as well as all children ages 6-17 in the rear of the RV. It is a primary enforcement state.

Related Reading  How Much Does An RV Inspection Cost? (What You Should Know)

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper delivery, living space of RVs, school and public buses, farm tractors, trash trucks, trucks more than 5000 lbs.

$30.00 Fine

Georgia (GA)

All passengers in Georgia must wear a seat belt. It is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons or newspaper/rural mail delivery, pickup trucks, off-road vehicles, vehicles for more than 10 passengers, emergency vehicles, vehicles making frequent stops, vehicles in reverse, model year before 1965.

$15.00 Fine

Hawaii (HI)

If traveling in an RV in the state of Hawaii only children aged 4-17 in the rear of the vehicle and those riding in the front must wear a seat belt. It is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, taxis, buses & school buses more than 10,000 lbs, emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts.

$45.00 Fine

Idaho (ID)

The RV seat belt law in the state of Idaho requires all passengers to wear a belt. It is a secondary enforcement state (primary for drivers under 18 years of age).

Exemptions are; medical reason, all belts are used, mail delivery Vehicles more than 8,000 lbs, emergency vehicles, husbandry vehicles.

$10.00 Fine

Illinois (IL)

All RV passengers in the front must wear a seat belt. Any passengers aged 8-15 in the rear must also wear a seat belt. Illinois is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts, vehicles in reverse.

$25.00 Fine

Indiana (IN)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 4-11 in the rear are required to wear a belt. It is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are;medical reason, delivery service, pickup trucks, buses, trucks, tractors, RVs, SUVs registered as pickup trucks.

$25.00 Fine

Iowa (IA)

All passengers in the RV. It is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions in Iowa are for medical reasons, delivery service, bus passenger and emergency vehicles only.

$25.00 Fine

Kansas (KA)

Only the people in the front seats, children aged 4-14 in the rear. Kansas is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery Farm vehicles more than 16,000 lbs, vehicles for more than 10 people, trucks more than 12,000 lbs, off-road vehicles.

$10.00 Fine

Kentucky (KA)

All passengers in the RV. Primary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reason, mail delivery, farm vehicles more than 2,000 lbs, vehicles for more than 10 people, trucks more than 12,000 lbs, model year before 1965.

$25.00 Fine

Louisiana (LA)

Only the people sitting in the front seat, children aged 6-12 in the rear. Primary enforcement laws apply in Louisiana.

Exemptions are; medical reason, mail delivery, farm vehicles within 5 miles of farm, model year before 1981, vehicles for more than 10 people.

$25.00-$50.00 Fine

Maine (MA)

All passengers in the RV must buckle up. Maine is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are;medical reasons, rural mail delivery, taxis, vehicles manufactured without belts.

$25.00-$50.00 Fine

Maryland (MD)

Maryland is a primary enforcement state but requires only the passengers in the front seats to buckle up.

Exemptions are;medical reasons, mail delivery, taxis, van-pools, hearses, farm vehicles within 10 miles of farm, antique vehicles, emergency vehicles.

$25.00 Fine

Massachusetts (MA)

Massachusetts all passengers in the RV must use seat belts. Massachusetts is a secondary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, taxis, buses, tractors, livery vehicles, trucks more than 18,000 lbs, emergency vehicles.

$25.00 Fine

Michigan (MI)

Only the people sitting on the fronts seats, children aged 4-15 in the rear. Michigan is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery service, school buses, model year before 1965, vehicles not required to have belts.

$25.00 Fine

Minnesota (MN)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 4-10 in the rear. Minnesota is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, when all belts used, farm pickup trucks; school buses, model year before 1965, vehicles in reverse, making frequent stops, or less than 25 mph.

$25.00 Fine

Mississippi (MI)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 4-10 in the rear. Primary enforcement.

Related Reading  How to Keep RV Drawers Closed During Travel

Exemptions are; medical reasons, meter reader, farm vehicles, ATVs, buses, trailers, vehicles for more than 15 passengers, husbandry vehicles.

$25.00 Fine

Missouri (MO)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 4-15 in the rear. Secondary enforcement (primary for 16 years and under)

Exemptions are; medical reasons, mail delivery, all belts used, farm vehicles, vehicles for more than 10 people or used for agriculture, trucks more than 12,000 lbs, model year before 1968.

$10.00 Fine

Montana (MT)

All passengers in the RV.Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, all belts used, vehicles with frequent stops, special mobile equipment vehicles.

$20.00 Fine

Nebraska (NE)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 4-18 in the rear. Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery Farm vehicles, buses, emergency vehicles, parade vehicles, model year before 1973.

$25.00 Fine

Nevada (NV)

All passengers in the RV. Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, taxis, buses, emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts, making frequent stops, or less than 15 mph.

$25.00 Fine

New Hampshire (NH)

All passengers in the RV. Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; Taxis, school buses, antique vehicles, parade vehicles, model year before 1968.

$25.00 Fine

New Jersey (NJ)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 8-17 in the rear. Primary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, vehicles manufactured before 1966, vehicles not required to have belts.

$42.00 Fine

New Mexico (NM)

All passengers in the RV. Primary Enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery Vehicles more than 10,000 lbs.

$25.00 Minimum Fine

New York (NY)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 15 and under in the rear. Primary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, taxis, non-school buses, livery vehicles.

$50.00 Minimum Fine

North Carolina (NC)

North Carolina is a primary enforcement state that enforces seat belts.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery service, commercial vehicles, farm vehicles, emergency vehicles, vehicles for more than 11 people, making frequent stops, or less than 20 mph.

$25.00 Fine

North Dakota (ND)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 7-17 in the rear. Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, all belts used, farm vehicles, vehicles for more than 10 people, husbandry vehicles.

$20.00 Fine

Ohio (OH)

Only the people sitting in the front seats. Secondary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reason or newspaper/mail delivery.

$25.00 Fine

Oklahoma (OK)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 6-12 in the rear. Primary Enforcement

Exemptions are; medical reason or mail delivery RVs, trucks, tractors.

$20.00 Fine

Oregon (OR)

All the passengers in the RV. Primary enforcement and carries some very hefty fines.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery, meter reader, or when all belts used, taxis, transit vehicles, trash trucks, emergency vehicles, vehicles for more than 15 passengers or not required to have belt.

$94.00 Fine

Pennsylvania (PA)

Secondary enforcement in Pennsylvania (primary for ages 18 and younger). Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 8-17 in the rear.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery service less than 15 mph, trucks more than 7,000 lbs, model year before 1966.

$10.00 Fine

Rhode Island (RI)

All the passengers in the RV. Primary enforcement.

Exemptions are; medical reasons or rural mail delivery, vehicles not required to have belts, model year before 1966.

$75.00 Fine

South Carolina (SC)

All the passengers in the RV. Enforcement is primary.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, delivery service, or all belts used, School, church, and daycare buses, public transit, vehicles for more than 10 passengers, parade vehicles.

$10.00 Fine

South Dakota (SD)

Secondary enforcement (primary law for under 18). Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 18 and under in the rear.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, mail/newspaper delivery, vehicles not required to have belts, model year before 1973.

$20.00 Fine

Related Reading  Does My RV Need A Surge Protector?

Tennessee (TN)

Only the people sitting in the front seats, children aged 16 and under in the rear. Enforcement type is primary.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery, utility worker, mechanic or auto dealer within 1 mile of dealership, public vehicles, vehicles more than 8500 lbs, parade vehicles, hayrides, vehicles not required to have belts.

$10.00-$20.00 Fine

Texas (TX)

The great state of Texas requires only the people sitting in the front seats and children aged 17 and under in the rear. Primary enforcement laws apply.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/mail delivery, utility workers, farm vehicles, vehicles for more than 10 people, trucks more than 15000 lbs.

$25.00-$200.00 Fine

Utah (UT)

The state of Utah is a primary enforcement state and requires all RV passengers to wear a seat belt.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, all belts are used, vehicles not required to have belts, model year before 1966.

$15.00-$45.00 Fine

Vermont (VT)

Vermont requires all passengers to wear seat belts while driving in the RV and is a secondary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, delivery of more than 15 mph, taxis, buses, farm tractors, emergency vehicles.

$10.00 Fine

Virginia (VA)

Virginia is a secondary enforcement state that requires all front seat passengers to wear a seat belt. It also requires those 16 and under in the rear of the vehicle to wear a seat belt.

Primary Exemptions are; medical reasons, rural mail delivery, meter reader, parking enforcement, taxis, police vehicles, vehicles for more than ten passengers, municipal and delivery vehicles with frequent stops.

$25.00 Fine

Washington (WA)

The state of Washington has some of the highest fines when it comes to RV seat belt laws. It’s a primary enforcement state that requires all passengers to wear a seat belt.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, all the belts are used, farm vehicles, construction vehicles, vehicles for more than 10 passengers, commercial vehicles with frequent stops.

$101.00 Fine

West Virginia (WV)

As a primary enforcement state West Virginia (WV) law states that only the front seat passengers must wear a seat belt while driving in the RV. It also requires anyone under the age of 17 in the rear of the vehicle to buckle up.

Exemptions are; vehicles designed to carry more than 19 passengers.

$25.00 Fine

Wisconsin (WI)

The state of Wisconsin is another primary enforcement state that mandates that all passengers in the front seat of the RV wear seat belts at all times. Children in the rear of the vehicle between the ages of 4-15 must also wear a seat belt.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, newspaper/rural mail delivery, land survey, taxis, farm trucks, emergency vehicles, vehicles with frequent stops, vehicles not required to have belts.

$10.00 Fine

Wyoming (WY)

Wyoming is a secondary enforcement state that still requires all passengers in the RV to wear seat belts.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, mail delivery, all belts are used, buses, emergency vehicles.

$10.00-$25.00 Fine

District of Columbia (DC)

All passengers in the RV traveling in theDistrict of Columbia (DC) must wear seat belts at all times. The District of Columbia is a primary enforcement state.

Exemptions are; medical reasons, taxis, vehicles for more than 9 passengers, farm vehicles, model year before 1966.

$50.00 Minimum Fine

Puerto Rico (PR)

Puerto Rico requires all passengers in the vehicle to buckle up with zero exemptions.

$50.00 Fine

US Virgin Islands (VI)

U.S Virgin Islands all passengers are required to wear seat belts. No exemptions are given.

$25.00- $250.00 Fine

 

Practice Safety First While Driving Your RV

There are specific restrictions when it comes to age on who has to have their seat belt on while at the rear of the RV.

Some states include the use of a child seat as part of the restriction.

Paying attention or even remembering these laws might be a bit tricky, so why not just strap everyone in?

Better safe than sorry. It’s also a good idea to make sure that your RV is properly insured.

I wrote a post on the cost of RV insurance in case you are in the market.

Recommended Reading

Written by
Johnathan R. Smith
Join the discussion

Copy link